Zone Selection Process

Community-Driven Leadership

The Washington State Department of Health supported two community groups – the Community Advisory Council and Community Workgroup – to develop the Health Equity Zones Initiative and zone selection process.

The Community Advisory Council is a statewide group made up of tribal community representatives, community representatives, and sector representatives from local health jurisdictions, Accountable Communities of Health, and the Governor’s Interagency Council on Health Disparities. This group has led decision-making on the development of the Health Equity Zones Initiative, including the Nomination Form and selection process with guidance from the Community Workgroup – an open membership group made up of community members across the state. The Community Advisory Council will review Nomination Forms and select the rural and urban zones.