Minutes of the Environmental Justice Council

September 22, 2022 Meeting 2:00pm-5:00pm

Virtual meeting via ZOOM Platform

Due to limited staff capacity, Environmental Justice Council (Council) staff are working to streamline the Council meeting notes. The notes now include only very high-level points and the final decisions made along with voting records. The full meeting recordings can be found on the Council's website: Environmental Justice Council Meetings | WaPortal.org. However, it is important that meeting notes are useful to the Council Members and the public. Please share feedback with Council staff on how we can make these notes most useful to you by emailing envipultice@ejc.wa.gov or by calling 360-584-4398.

Council Members Present:

- Council Member Nichole Banegas
- Council Member Maria Batayola
- Council Member Maria Blancas
- The Honorable Patrick DePoe
- Council Member Running-Grass
- Council Member Rosalinda Guillen
- Council Member Aurora Martin
- Council Member David Mendoza
- Council Member Esther Min
- Dawn Vyvyan on behalf of the Honorable Sylvia Miller
- Council Member Nirae Petty
- Council Member Faaluaina Pritchard
- Council Member Todd Mitchell
- Council Member Raeshawna Ware

Council Members Absent:

- The Honorable Jarred-Michael Erickson
- The Honorable Sylvia Miller
- The Honorable Misty Napeahi

Agency Liaisons Present:

- Melissa Schutten representing Laura Blackmore and Puget Sound Partnership
- Eliseo (EJ) Juárez, Department of Natural Resources
- Allison Dane Camden, Department of Transportation
- Michael Furze, Department of Commerce
- Nicole Johnson, Department of Agriculture
- Millie Piazza, Department of Ecology

Agency Liaisons Absent:

• Department of Health

Council Staff Present:

- Sierra Rotakhina
- Theo Cielos
- Rowena Pineda

<u>Theo Cielos, Council Staff,</u> gave instructions on how to enter the language interpretation channels and see the closed captions.

Rowena Pineda, Council Staff, called the public meeting to order at 2:09.

I. Welcome and Introduction

<u>Rowena Pineda, Council Staff</u>, opened the meeting and facilitated Council Member and staff introductions.

II. Approval of Agenda

The Council came to full consensus with members present and adopted the agenda as posted in advance of the meeting without changes. The following Council Members were absent for this agenda item:

2

To request this document in an alternate format or a different language, please contact Sierra Rotakhina in any language, at <a href="mailto:environment-environme

- The Honorable Patrick DePoe
- The Honorable Jarred-Michael Erickson
- Council Member David Mendoza
- The Honorable Sylvia Miller
- The Honorable Misty Napeahi

III. Approval of Past Council Meeting Notes

The Council came to full consensus with members present and adopted the June 22, 2022 and July 28, 2022 as posted in advance of the meeting without changes. The following Council Members were absent for this agenda item:

- The Honorable Patrick DePoe
- The Honorable Jarred-Michael Erickson
- Council Member David Mendoza
- The Honorable Sylvia Miller
- The Honorable Misty Napeahi

IV. Discussion/Decision on Governance: Role of Co-Chairs and Process for Electing Co-Chairs

- The Council discussed and shared concerns and proposed edits on Article II of the draft bylaws.
- They discussed the urgency of getting Council leadership in place and discussed the idea of nominating and/or electing Co-Chairs at today's meeting. The group did not come to consensus on the language of Article II of the bylaws or on nominating and/or electing leadership today. These actions were tabled for future Council meetings.

3

- Staff will work for Council Members to edit Article II of the bylaws to address concerns expressed at today's meeting. <u>Council Members Batayola and Vice Chairman DePoe</u> volunteered to support.
- <u>Vice Chairman DePoe</u> would like to work with staff on the Centennial Accord as well as work
 with staff on talking points with Legislators.

V. Public Comment

<u>Theo Cielos</u>, opened the public comment period. Nobody signed up to provide public comment at the meeting. <u>Council Member Min</u> referred Council Members to the written public comments included in their meeting packets.

VI. Council Workplans and Prioritization of Work

The Council did not address this agenda item at the meeting.

VII.Discussion of Community Engagement and What the Council Would Like Agencies to Include in the Annual HEAL Updates to the Council

The Council came to consensus and adopted the following questions that they are recommending the HEAL Agencies answer in their annual updates to the Council:

- 1. What HEAL obligations have been implemented or are in process?
- 2. What budget amount was requested and fulfilled to implement HEAL during the 2021-2023 biennium?
- 3. How much was funded, and was it enough?
- 4. How are funds being used?

4

To request this document in an alternate format or a different language, please contact Sierra Rotakhina in any language, at <a href="mailto:environment-environme

- 5. Have you requested increased funding for next biennium?
- 6. What barriers are you encountering in your implementation, how are you planning on overcoming those barriers in the next year, and what are your resource needs to overcome those barriers?
- 7. Who identified those barriers (Community comment/complaint? Was there an incident that showed this as a barrier? Etc.).
- 8. How are you planning to implement HEAL in the next fiscal year?
- 9. Information on community engagement by region/information through an equitable lens.

Council Members Present for this Vote:

Council Member Nichole Banegas: A: Yes, I approve

Council Member Maria Batayola: A: Yes, I approve

Council Member Maria Blancas: A: Yes, I approve

The Honorable Patrick Depoe: A: Yes, I approve

Council Member Running-Grass: A: Yes, I approve

Council Member Rosalinda Guillen: A: Yes, I approve

Council Member Aurora Martin: A: Yes, I approve

Council Member David Mendoza: A: Yes, I approve

Council Member Esther Min: A: Yes, I approve

Council Member Nirae Petty: A: Yes, I approve

Council Member Todd Mitchell: A: Yes, I approve

Council Member Nichole Banegas: A: Yes, I approve

Council Member Raeshawna Ware: F: I stand aside, recuse myself

Council Members Absent for this Vote:

The Honorable Jarred-Michael Erickson

The Honorable Misty Napeahi

5

To request this document in an alternate format or a different language, please contact Sierra Rotakhina in any language, at <a href="mailto:environment-environme

The Honorable Sylvia Miller

<u>Vice Chairman DePoe</u> voted yes, but noted that would like to ask for something supplemental later on, because there were no Tribal questions included. So he we could like the group to circle back to that later. He noted that he didn't want to stop this being adopted, that this is great work, and these questions are important.

Melissa Schutten, Puget Sound Partnership, noted in chat she would provide guidance to the HEAL Interagency Workgroup members to respond to Tribal HEAL mandates and will engage with the Tribal Liaison Workgroup as well.

VIII. Updates on Conversations with the Governor's Office

The Council did not address this agenda item at the meeting.

IX.Check-out and Farewell

6